Exam Databricks-Certified-Professional-Data-Engineer Topic 3 Question 31 Discussion

Actual exam question for Databricks's Databricks-Certified-Professional-Data-Engineer exam
Question #: 31
Topic #: 3
The data governance team is reviewing code used for deleting records for compliance with GDPR. They note the following logic is used to delete records from the Delta Lake table named users.

Assuming that user_id is a unique identifying key and that delete_requests contains all users that have requested deletion, which statement describes whether successfully executing the above logic guarantees that the records to be deleted are no longer accessible and why?

Suggested Answer: E Vote an answer

The code uses the DELETE FROM command to delete records from the users table that match a condition based on a join with another table called delete_requests, which contains all users that have requested deletion.
The DELETE FROM command deletes records from a Delta Lake table by creating a new version of the table that does not contain the deleted records. However, this does not guarantee that the records to be deleted are no longer accessible, because Delta Lake supports time travel, which allows querying previous versions of the table using a timestamp or version number. Therefore, files containing deleted records may still be accessible with time travel until a vacuum command is used to remove invalidated data files from physical storage.
Verified References: [Databricks Certified Data Engineer Professional], under "Delta Lake" section; Databricks Documentation, under "Delete from a table" section; Databricks Documentation, under "Remove files no longer referenced by a Delta table" section.

by Adolph at Jan 26, 2025, 11:51 AM

Comments

Chosen Answer:
This is a voting comment (?) , you can switch to a simple comment.
Switch to a voting comment New
Nick name: Submit Cancel
A voting comment increases the vote count for the chosen answer by one.

Upvoting a comment with a selected answer will also increase the vote count towards that answer by one. So if you see a comment that you already agree with, you can upvote it instead of posting a new comment.